The Latifeh Yarshater Award

The Latifeh Yarshater Award was instituted by the Persian Heritage Foundation to honor the memory of Latifeh Yarshater and her lifelong dedication to the improvement of Iranian women's human rights. The purpose of the award is to encourage scholarship in Iranian Studies focused on the condition of women in Persian speaking societies and to promote women's rights in these societies.



2014 Winner

The Latifeh Yarshater Award was awarded and presented at the 2014 Biennial Conference in Montreal, Canada to Shahrnush Parsipur, novelist and short story writer.


The award in the amount of $3000. is biannual, granted to a work that is 1) of superior scholarship; 2) published within two years prior to the award (i.e. books published in 2012 and 2013); and 3) satisfies the following criteria of eligibility:

A. Covers one of the areas of women's studies related to Persian speaking societies.

B. Makes a direct or indirect contribution to the improvement of the status of women in those societies.

C. Is innovative in subject matter and approach and expands the parameters of the field.

Works in English are the primary focus of the award. Persian, French, and German works are considered only exceptionally when there is unanimous agreement on their high merit.

Members of the Commmittee are: Shahla Haeri Social Science/Anthropology; Mohamad Tavakoli Targhi ( History;  Houra Yavari hy2101@columbiaedu Psychology; Nasrin Rahimieh Women's Studies; Massumeh Farhad Art & Culture; Azar Nafisi Literature; and Mahnaz Afkhami Chair. Women's Studies